Mumbai Municipal Corporation

Being the financial capital of India, Mumbai administration or civic administration of Mumbai is immensely critical for overall economic development and political stability of India. 

This massive challenge is undertaken by many political entities whose civic rights & duties are enshrined in the Constitution of India.

Roughly, there are 3 important political entities that are entrusted with civic responsibilities & duties of Mumbai city.
  1. Government of Maharashtra & Union Government of India.
  2. Local self governing body (BMC & NMMC)
  3. Mumbai District Collector or Collectorate.

State Government of Maharashtra & Union Government of India

What this actually means is that respective State Governments (in Mumbai’s case it is Government of Maharashtra) and Union Government of India are constitutionally bounded to work mutually for economic & political development of the state. 

Concurrent list enlists all the functions and rights shared by Union Government and State Government and have to executed mutually and with proper coordination for overall civic development of all the cities and towns falling under the jurisdiction of State Government.

These 3 lists completely defines administrative relationship between State Government and Union Government of India. And now coming to all important information about current Government of Maharashtra and MPs (member of parliament) representing Maharashtra in the Upper and Lower house of India.

Democratic Front Government

The current State Government of Maharashtra is headed by Democratic Front which is an alliance/coalition government formed by Indian National Congress (INC) and Nationalist Congress party (NCP). 

The coalition government came into power after convincingly winning the required majority in the State Assembly Elections held in 2009. The Maharashtra State Assembly constitutes of 288 seats and elections for the same are conducted after every 5 years. 

As per constitution, for any party to form a government it has to win at least 50% seats, i.e. 144 seats in the case of Maharashtra. 

Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Maharashtra Legislative Building

Members of Parliament (MP’s) from Mumbai City

Members of Parliament or MPs are elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, who are elected via general election conducted after every 5 years. 

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha constitute the Indian Parliament located in New Delhi, which is the highest legislative and administrative body of India and is permanent seat of Union or Central government of India.
As mentioned earlier India is a federal state wherein respective State governments have to coordinate with Union or Central government for better civic administration. MP’s also receive ‘Development Fund’ from Central Government for economic development of their constituencies.

Rajya Sabha MPs of Mumbai

Although Rajya Sabha MP’s are elected indirectly, i.e. elected by Lok Sabha members, they however have same duties and responsibilities as that of Lok Sabha MP’s. 

Likewise they too are entrusted with ‘Development Fund’ and are expected to raise civic problems their respective constituencies are facing.

Local Governing Bodies – BMC and NMMC

With State Government and Union Government already burdened with homogenous responsibilities, it is obvious that basic civic responsibilities of big metropolitan cities like Mumbai. This is where local governing bodies like Municipal Corporation come into play. 

An important entity that was formed during British regime solely for the purpose of looking after basic civic responsibilities of big metropolitan cities like Mumbai city.

BMC (Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation) and Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation (NMMC) are two Municipal Corporations that are solely responsible for fulfilling basic civic responsibilities of Mumbai city. 

Administration in Mumbai.
Mumbai BMC building

The BMC jurisdiction constitutes of Greater Mumbai and almost entire Suburban Mumbai area, whereas NMMC’s jurisdiction is limited only to Navi Mumbai area. 

While NMMC was formed only in 1992 and is merely 2 decades old, BMC on other hand is the oldest Municipal Corporation of India. formed way back in year 1882 by British administration. 

However, what makes it even more eminent is the fact that it is the richest Municipal Corporation of India. in fact BMC’s annual budget is more than that of some of the small states of India.

Given below are the basic functions and responsibilities of BMC and NMMC.
  • Management of water supply.
  • Ensuring public healthcare and maintenance of government hospitals in Mumbai.
  • Maintenance of all roads/streets in Mumbai.
  • Sewage disposal.
  • Removal of encroachments.
  • Pay and park.
  • Taking all necessary precautionary measures to prevent epidemic outbreaks.
  • Maintenance of gardens and lakes.
As for organizational structure or hierarchy, both BMC and NMMC are headed by Municipal Commissioner, who is the highest executive head and wields all executive power. 

Municipal Commissioner is also diligently assisted by team of additional & assistant commissioners. Municipal Commissioner and there entire team are IAS officers who are directly appointed by Government of Maharashtra. 

This is so because Mayor and Corporators are directly elected by people of their wards during Municipal Corporation election held after every 5 years. Contact information’s of Municipal Commissioner and other important officers of BMC & NMMC.


Municipal Commissioner
Chief Personnel Officer, Annex Building, Municipal Head Office, 6th floor, Mahapalika Marg, Fort, Mumbai 400001Phone: 22620525 Ext.2609

Additional Municipal Commissioner:
Mr. Suresh Kakani, IAS Cadre: Maharashtra Batch 2003: 
Additional Municipal Commissioner (Western Suburbs) Administrative Experience Distribution of work/Departments 
Email : [email protected] 22620251


Name : Shri. Abhijit Bangar (I.A.S)
Office : 022 - 27567171
Commissioner Office Address : Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation, Head Office, Plot No. 1, Near Killegaothan, Palmbeach Junction, Sector 15 A, CBD, Belapur, Navi Mumbai 400 614
Commissioner Res Address : 022-27710170, 022-27567171

District Collector

After State & Union Government and Local Self Governing bodies comes the important role of District Collector or Magistrate in the efficient civic administration of Mumbai city. 

Traditionally, in India district collector’s function mainly pertains to revenue collection and land acquisition record (property records). 

An efficient & competent District Collector always ensures that state’s revenue collections never dips down and successfully abolishes illegal use of land. 

Mumbai city has not one but two District Collectors. This is because Mumbai city is divided into 2 revenue district divisions, Mumbai City District and Mumbai Suburban District.

The jurisdiction of Mumbai City District extends from Colaba in the South to Mahim on the western side and Sion on the eastern side, whereas jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District extends from extends from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla up to Trombay Creek.

You may also like to visit

Free Listing